Student Spotlight: Kathryn Toyota

13120479_1333009903381143_372240318_o
_________________________________________________________________
Q1: What is your full name?

My full name is Kathryn Lenee Toyota.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q2: What is your age?

I’m twenty years old.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q3: What year are you in terms of your education?

I’m a sophomore in college.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q4: What is your hometown and/or country

I currently reside in Cranston, Rhode Island, United States of America.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q5: Are you an exchange, international, or SSALI student and how long have you/will you be here for?

I am a National Student Exchange student here until the end of the Spring semester.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q6: What is your major?

I’m a double major in Math and Finance.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q7: What are your goals (academically or non academically) for this Spring semester?

I hope to simply pass my classes (since my grades here won’t affect my GPA back home) and instead focus on gaining a load of cultural knowledge (which I think I have successfully done). I want to experience what life is like on the west coast.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q8: What is one memorable thing you have done this semester?

For spring break a few of us traveled down to southern California and visited places like the Santa Monica Pier and LA. I definitely made some great memories there.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q9: What do you like to do in your free time?

In my free time I like to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather and/or hang out with new friends.

 _________________________________________________________________
Q10: What piece of advice would you give students wanting to study at Sonoma State as part of an exchange or international program?

I’d tell people to come into this experience with an open mind. I definitely had stereotypes in mind about what California was like and it was nothing like I expected (much more farmland than I originally thought). But it’s been an even better experience than I could have imagined it’d be.

Leave a Reply

