Student Spotlight: Martin Roy

15032641_10154741396129853_5767126569811132148_n.jpgThis weeks student spotlight is Martin Roy. Martin is originally from Canada!

1.) What is your favorite hobby?- I like hiking because you have to push yourself depending on the hike. Every experience is different too. You can be indoors or in nature. It’s nice to be away from the city and the smells too. I went to Yosemite last week and woke up at 5am. I did the upper Yosemite waterfall hike and it took about 6 hours, but it was super fun!

2.)Why did you choose California?- At first, I wanted to practice my English after taking classes. I started learning English 3 years ago. I wanted the full experience of always talking in English. Also, I can go and use my English in the UK or Australia after. I really wanted to go to Australia, but my school didn’t offer a program there, so I chose the west Coast because I wanted to see it. I wanted to experience the elections.

3.)What’s your favorite movie?- Inception because I like those kinds of story building movies. I also love at the end that they don’t give you all the answers. It makes you think and you can watch it over and over and learn more every time. The topic of dreams is not a usual topic and I thought that was interesting.

4.) What’s the largest difference between Canada and California?- The people because they are so friendly. I often say that over and over again.

5.) What is your favorite subject in school?- Political philosophy because you can see how the ideas of society are built before us. You see an idea of why we are the way we are.

6.) Do you have any plans for the upcoming vacation week?- For Thanksgiving I think I’ll go to southern California. I haven’t been there yet and for Christmas I’ll already be back in Canada.

7.)What is something you’ve learned from being here?- I’ve learned a lot about myself and that my program was the perfect one for me. I’m doing what I want to do and I love to travel. I don’t focus on missing things when I travel.

Leave a Reply

