Student Spotlight: Lynn Im!

17799258_10155239443014853_1124903737694750749_n

This week’s student spotlight is Lynn from South Korea! Lynn is very excited to be studying in California.

1.) What do you like most about Sonoma?- I think the people here. I would like to say the weather, but it’s only been two months since I arrived and it’s so rainy. It rains a lot! I love all the friends I’ve made here. There’s a lot of international students here and my roommates are so nice. They love Korean food, so we had a Korean dinner night last week. I’m not the best cook, but I try to make Korean food for them sometimes. People are just so kind to me, even though I’m a stranger.

2.)What do you hope to accomplish while being here?- I came here because I wanted to escape from my life in Korea. I’m a senior and it is very tough to be in college in Korea. I’m not sure what I want to do and I’m supposed to be prepared in Korea. I was too sensitive in Korea and I feel so much more relaxed after coming here. I am trying to figure out who I am. One of my favorite quotes is “Life isn’t about finding who you are, it’s about creating who you are.”

3.)Do you have a guilty pleasure?- I really like ASMR which is a soundtrack that helps you relax. There are natural sounds, such as the rain or the wind. I love that, but some of my friends think it’s weird.

4.)Who do you look up to?- My parents definitely. They always inspire and support me. They are the people I look most up to.

5.) Why did you choose California?- Everyone wants to be in California! I had an imagination of being in California, but I soon realized that was Southern California, not here! Before coming here, the only city I had been to in The United States was New York. New York was very Eastern and cold, while California was very Western and everyone is so nice. I love the sunsets here too!

6.)What’s your favorite food?- I really love Korean, but I always try to put Mexican hot sauce to add spiciness. I really love Mexican food too!

Leave a Reply

